Welcome

Our staff is here to serve you the Taxpayer.

The Assessors main office hours are 8 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday except for normal holidays.

 The Assessors/911 GIS Addressing Office hours 7:30am to 5:30pm Monday through Thursday closed on Friday.

 Call our office at (870) 425-3453 or email me at [email protected] or assess online at the assess tab above 24/7. We are here to serve you!

What We Do

  • Assess and Appraise all Personal Property and Business Personal Property.
  • Collect Data and Appraise all Real Estate Property in each 4-year Appraisal Cycle
  • Confirm Legals, map and transfer ownership on all property deeds.
  • Homestead and Over 65/ Disability Freeze Applications.
  • Transfer Mobile Homes and Boat Dock ownership. (Please always bring a bill of sale into the Assessor’s office on Mobile Homes and Boat Docks.)
  • Map and Maintain Baxter County GIS parcel layers of parcels, city boundaries, fire district boundaries, boat docks as well as many other layers.
  • Provide 911 Addresses for Baxter County residents.
  • The Assessor or her Chief Deputy attend all Equalization Board Hearings.

About Personal Property

Appraising and assessing all personal and business property must be done between January 1 and May 31. Assessment’s taken after May 31 will be charged a 10 percent late penalty.

All property in the state shall be assessed according to its market value except merchant’s inventory, which is assessed at its average value during the year immediately preceding the first of January.

About Real Estate

All Real Estate is valued as of January 1 with a 4 year reappraisal cycle. New construction or newly discovered real estate values are updated yearly.

If a property owner has a dispute of the value of their property, the property owner may request a hearing with the Board of Equalization through the County Clerk’s office August 1.

If you own a home in Baxter County, and it is your principal place of residence, under Amendment 79 you are eligible for a Homestead Credit for Up to $425.00. By Law only One Homestead is permitted nationwide. Penalties for duplicate homesteads are double the value received.

Important Dates

Assess your Personal and Business Property between:

January 1st and May 31st.
Jayme C. Nicholson

Jayme C. Nicholson

Baxter County Assessor

Arkansas Wildlife

Photos © Greg Ifland Photography

Arkansas Wildlife

Photos © Greg Ifland Photography

Arkansas Skyline

Photos © Greg Ifland Photography

Arkansas Wildlife

Photos © Greg Ifland Photography

Arkansas Wildlife

Photos © Greg Ifland Photography

Arkansas Scenery

Photos © Greg Ifland Photography

Arkansas Wildlife

Photos © Greg Ifland Photography

Arkansas Scenery

Photos © Greg Ifland Photography

Arkansas Scenery

Photos © Greg Ifland Photography